skip to content

Federal Documents Databases

Networked Federal Government Databases available to the University of Connecticut
Federal Government Internet Search Engines and Finding Aids

Networked Federal Government Databases

The following resources are limited to the University of Connecticut community.
For information on remote access, see Remote Access to Library Research Databases and Electronic Journals

Environmental Health Information Service
    Provides access to Environmental Health Perspectives Monthly and Supplement and National Toxicity Program Technical Reports

    Login ID: 0077  Password:  use276nvi

National Climatic Data Center Online Document Library
  

    Monthly Climatic Data of the World (MCDW):monthly mean temperature, pressure,precipitation, vapor pressure, and sunshine for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide and monthly mean upper air temperatures, dew point depressions, and wind velocities for approximately 500 observing sites.
    Storm Data (SD):Monthly issues contain a chronological listing, by states, of occurrences of storms and unusual weather phenomena. Reports contain
    information on storm paths, deaths, injuries, and property damage, with annual summaries
    Local Climatological Data (LCD):Summarizes temperature, relative humidity, precipitation, cloudiness, wind speed and direction observations for several hundred cities in the U.S. and its territories. Most monthly publications also contain the 3 hourly weather observations for that month and an hourly summary of precipitation. Annual LCD publications contain a summary of the past calendar year as well as historical averages and extremes.

Stat-USA
    Homer Babbidge Library has a site licence to this database providing access international economic, trade and market data in National Trade Data Bank.

USA - Trade Online
     Contact Federal Documents librarian at e-mail address below for information on free access to this database in the library

Federal Government Internet Search Engines and Finding Aids

CenStats
    CenStats provides simplified web-based access to nine popular U.S. Census Bureau databases and publications:

                                                   Annual Survey of Manufactures

                                                   Building Permits

                                                   Census Tract Street Locator

                                                   Consolidated Federal Funds Report

                                                   County Business Patterns

                                                   International Trade Data

                                                   Occupation by Race and Sex

                                                   USA Counties

                                                   Zip Business Patterns

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
    Research reports prepared for the use of members of Congress on a variety of social, political, and legislative topics.

Federal Information on Yahoo
    Federal and International government internet resources arranged by this popular web search organization.

FedStats
    The United States Government is the single largest publisher of statistics in the world. FedStats brings together statistical publications from over 100 federal agencies in one site, arranged by topic and searchable by keyword.

FedWorld.Gov
    National Technical Information Service (NTIS) site offering access to 20 government research databases including Supreme Court Decisions Issued between 1937 and 1975, NTIS Tecnical Reports database, and satellite images.

FirstGov

Your First Click to the U.S. Government.

Google Government Search
    Search Google's database of U.S. Government-hosted pages.

GovSpot
    Access to the best government-related sites for local, state, federal, and international resources.

GPO Access
    Fulltext, searchable electronic access to Budget of the United States Government, Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (MOCAT),Code of
    Federal Regulations, Commerce Business Daily, Federal Register, U.S. Government Manual, and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.

Federal Resources Organized by Topic
    Links to federal agency resources, government databases, and other federal information resources online organized by subject.  A great starting point for research in government information sources on topics as diverse as animal welfare, computer security, and nuclear power.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Justice Information Center
    Statistics research and links to resources on all aspects of criminology and law enforcement, including the The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database containing "summaries of more than 140,000  publications on criminal justice, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research."

National Security Archive
     Collection of declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, made available by George Washington University.

Publications of the U.S. Geological Survey Database
    Searchable database of all U.S. Geological Survey publications.

Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
    Provides searchable, full-text access to The Congressional Record, public laws, committee information, bill status, and much more.

Uncle Sam Migrating Government Publications
    Lists of former print titles that have migrated to WWW format, by title or Superintendant of Documents number, maintained by the Regional Depository Library at the University of Memphis.

United States Patent and Trademark Office Web Patent Databases

U.S. Federal Government Agencies Directory
    Comprehensive list of Executive, Judicial and Legislative agency sites on the internet.

FirstGov
    Comprehensive collection of millions of web pages from government and military sites for authoritative information by and about the US government.

For assistance with research in Federal Documents or government information sources in general please contact:
Steven Batt
Federal Documents Librarian/Journalism Liaison
Research and Information Services U-5RI
Homer Babbidge Library
(860) 486-6128
Steven.Batt@uconn.edu