Skip to Content
Skip to Search
Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

University of Connecticut University Libraries

Binding

Thesis Binding

Masters and Doctoral students who wish to have personal copies of their theses/dissertations bound can bring them to Bindery Prep. located in the staff area on Level B in Homer Babbidge Library. Thesis binding hours for are Monday thru Friday 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. This service is also available to undergraduate honors theses students.

Please Note:  If you are binding theses for a department and expect to use a transfer voucher for  payment, please go to the Binding Services Page.

Forms

You should print and fill out a Personal Theses/Dissertations Binding Form. The form is available in the following formats (click to download):

- PDF format (104 kb) (requires free Adobe Acrobat Reader)
- Microsoft Word format (42 kb)

- Sample Personal Theses/Dissertations Binding Form (requires free Adobe Acrobat Reader)

Payment
Payment must be made at the time your thesis is dropped off. Payment is by money order only. Cash, credit cards, and personal checks are not accepted. Money orders are made out to Homer Babbidge Library. A money order can come from a bank, the post office or a store selling money orders.

Shipment Schedule
The bindery shipment is every other Wednesday. The deadline to get your thesis into the current week’s shipment is 2 p.m. Tuesday. Theses and dissertations received after 2 p.m. on Tuesday may not go out until the next shipment. Theses are due back two weeks and one day after the shipment date (the day the theses are sent to the bindery, not the day they are delivered to Preservation) and are available after 3 p.m. on that day.
The current shipment schedule (subject to change) January-June 2014:

Shipment Date Date Due/Available

Wednesday, January 08, 2014

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Thursday, February 06, 2014

Wednesday, February 05, 2014

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Thursday, March 06, 2014

Wednesday, March 05, 2014

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Thursday, April 03, 2014

Wednesday, April 02, 2014

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Thursday, May 01, 2014

Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Dropoff/Pickup
Theses can be shipped to Bindery Prep if you cannot drop them off in person. The mailing address is:

Bindery Prep/Theses Binding
Homer Babbidge Library
University of Connecticut
369 Fairfield Way
Unit 1005
Storrs, Connecticut 06269-1005
ATTN: FRED RICK/THESES BINDING

Patrons are notified by e-mail (or by phone if an e-mail address is not available) when theses are returned from the bindery. Theses must be picked up at Bindery Prep. If you can’t pick them up yourself, you can have someone else get them for you. Preservation will hold personal theses for up to one year after the date returned from the bindery. IF YOUR THESES ARE NOT PICKED UP AFTER ONE YEAR, THEY WILL BE SENT TO YOUR ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT.

Color Samples

The following are samples of the cover binding colors. Please note that due to the limitations of digital images, these are not exact reproductions of the available colors.

For additional information, please see our Personal Thesis Binding FAQ.


>

For general inquiries concering Preservation and for inquiries pertaining to this site, contact the Preservation Webpage Manager.